Mission Statement

The mission of the Campaign for Trauma Informed Policy and Practice (CTIPP) is to create a resilient, trauma-informed society where all individuals and families have the opportunity and the supports necessary to thrive.

Our goal is to advocate for public policies and programs at the federal, state, local and tribal levels that incorporate up-to-date scientific findings regarding the relationship between trauma across the lifespan and many social and health problems. In addition, work in collaboration with communities, cities, states, and tribes to develop trauma-informed and prevention-focused policies and practices that reflect experience in the field.

Our approach explicitly focuses on the common underpinnings of many of our most pressing social and health problems.  Our aim is to build a broad and effective coalition across sectors and systems.  We recognize that sustainable change requires the participation of the people most affected by policies and services as well as those responsible for their implementation, and we are committed to including everyone’s voice.

CTIPP embraces a public health framework, addressing the social determinants of health and supporting the integration of promotion, prevention, resilience-building and healing activities.  We recognize the importance of using an intergenerational, lifespan approach.  We know that people are fundamentally resilient, and we prioritize actions and policies that support and build on natural strengths.

Our work to help create a just, equitable and trauma-informed society will require the development of broad-based, systemic solutions and structural reform in addition to new partnerships and funding mechanisms. 

Members of the Board


Sandra Bloom, M.D., Chair
(Center for Nonviolence & Social Justice, Dornsife School of Public Health, Drexel University)

Andrea Blanch, PhD, Co-Chair 
(Center for Religious Tolerance)

Diane Wagenhals, Secretary
(Lakeside Educational Network)

Suzanne O’Connor, Treasurer
(United Way of Philadelphia and S. NJ)



Rene Andersen

Maggie Bennington-Davis, MD.
(Health Share of Oregon)

Christina Bethell, PhD.
(Johns Hopkins)

Cathy Cave
(Inspired Vision LLC)

Mariana Chilton, PhD.
(Center for Hunger-free Communities, Dornsife School of Public Health, Drexel University)

Joan Duvall-Flynn, EdD
Currently on leave
(Trauma-Informed Education Coalition, NAACP)

Wendy Ellis, DrPH.
(Milken Institute School of Public Health, George Washington University)

Pilar Gauthier, MS.

Leah Harris, MA
Currently on leave
(Shifa Consulting, Inc.)

Leslie Lieberman, MSW.
(Health Federation of Philadelphia)

Helga Luest, MA.
(Abt Associates and Traumainformed.org)

Marsha Morgan
(Resilience Builders Consulting)

Michael O’Bryan
(Village of Arts and Humanities)

Darby Penney
(Community Consortium)

Laura Porter
(ACEs Interface)

Elizabeth Prewitt, MA.
(ACEs Connection Network)

Jonathan Purtle, PhD.
(Health Management & Policy, Dornsife School of Public Health, Drexel University)

Joe Pyle, MA.
(Scattergood Foundation)

David Shern, PhD.
(Mental Health America)

Carole Warshaw, MD.
(National Center on Domestic Violence, Trauma & Mental Health)


Other Board Roles:

Dan Press, J.D., Ex Officio Legal Advisor
(Van Ness Feldman)

William Kellibrew IV, Special Advisor on Race and Urban Violence
(Office of Youth Violence Prevention, Baltimore City Health Department)

Susan Salasin, Special Advisor on Gender and Vulnerable Populations


Also attending when possible: 

Robin Rotman, J.D.
(Van Ness Feldman)

Sean Taylor
(Van Ness Feldman)